Barn testimonials

25 November 2015

“A true touch of class within minutes of the Dartmoor National Park”
— I have just got back from a weekend in Dartmoor having stayed in by far the best accommodation I have found in Devon. To summarise why it was so brilliant:
1) Edwin and Mike are enormously hospitable and friendly, and go out of their way to make the stay as enjoyable as possible
2) The house and converted barn are designed with true professionalism by a couple that clearly have a passion for what they do. The place is oozing with character and it is wonderfully inviting and a very special place to stay
3) The rooms themselves are just as amazing as the rest of the house. The beds are enormous and comfortable and everything is designed and thought through with perfection. Definitely go for a room with a bath if you have the choice
4) Breakfast - wow... You definitely won't go hungry and it is all delicious. Make sure you try the honey from their own bees
5) The setting is beautiful. There is a lake at the bottom of the garden, a heated outdoor swimming pool and an outside area to chill out by a wood burner
6) The location is perfect. You are on the cusp of the national park but also close to the coast. There are some good places close by to go and eat (definitely try out the Cott at Dartington)
I really cannot recommend this place enough. I will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a bath if possible
Robinhutton, London, United Kingdom


25 September 2015

“Rustic charm with luxury trappings - perfect getaway for city slickers!”

— ANRÁN @ Tidwell Farm is a perfect marriage of pastoral charm and modern trappings. The exterior is all rough-hewn stone and looks like a traditional country home but the inside is simply amazing - five-star hotel standards. Super comfy bed with crisp linens, Molton Brown toiletries, plush white towels, bathrobes and slippers, ample hangers (now that's something you hardly see even in good hotels), hair dryer, flat-screen TV and free Wi-Fi! The warm and welcoming hosts are the cherry on top. 
Luxury is a word that keeps popping up in reviews about this amazing property and it's well-deserved. It's luxurious in terms of its excellent mod-cons/creature comforts but also in the sense of its picture-perfect, tranquil setting that offers a reviving escape from the hubbub of the city. Take a stroll around the property to admire what they've done to spruce up the old farmhouse and the land. Some parts (not the main quarters) are still undergoing the final touches but it looks set to be stunning when it's all completed. Can't wait to see it!
If you're not doing a self-catering holiday (which is available if you book the rooms with well-equipped kitchenettes), you'll thoroughly enjoy the breakfast in the naturally sunlit dining room of the Manor house. A simple and lovely spread of breads, cereals, cheese, cold cuts and assorted jams (some made by the owners from fruit picked on the premises), with hot breakfast items like sausages, bacon, mushrooms and farm-fresh eggs from their own chickens, prepared the way you like it. Just the thing to get you prepped and ready for a day of exploring.
ANRÁN makes a great base for discovering the surprisingly varied experiences Devon has to offer. Favourite experiences were the authentic Devonshire cream tea at the Hill House Nursery's tea room just 10 mins' walk from the B&B, riding on the steam train and ferry across to Dartmouth, visiting Agatha Christie's Greenway holiday home. My trip coincided with the annual Widecombe Fair in Dartmoor, which takes place in the 2nd Tues of Sep - worth a visit if you want to experience the country life (livestock showing, ferret racing, town crier competitions, food tastings, vintage tractors, etc). The helpful hosts have tons of great recommendations on where to go and what to do. Three days is not enough to do and see it all, so I'm planning to be back soon!

JoyceSML, Singapore, Singapore


21 September 2015

“Perfect!”

— My (now) Fiancé and I were recommended the Anran by some very good friends of ours, and we couldn't be more grateful they did.
We stayed in Room 7 in the Manor for a weekend on the 12th September and like all the other reviews describe, the entire stay was perfect.
Mike, Edwin and Netha couldn't have been better hosts. From the moment we arrived and Netha making us a cup of tea, to Edwin going on the hunt for some toothpaste (we had a packing communication error), Mike providing a tour of the beautiful grounds and barn (and explaining to us city folk the best place to go for a walk…), and finally all the advice they gave on what to see and do, and the best places to eat. They are all a great team and nothing was too much trouble.
The rooms were all beautiful, the breakfast was amazing, and I've never felt more welcome to stay than I have the Anran.
Finally, to highlight and prove how special Anran Manor is, my boyfriend proposed to me in the room, where he originally had it planned elsewhere. It was an amazing day, a beautiful setting, and I couldn't be more pleased we were staying there. I will remember it for the rest of my life. I want to say a special thank you to the team that were all involved (yes…they were all in on it and I had no idea!), especially Mike for calling the restaurant ahead of us getting there to announce our news, we received a drink on the house to celebrate.
Thanks for such a great stay. We will be back… :)

Tash M, Guildford, United Kingdom


20 September 2015

“Perfect and beautiful. ”

— Probably one of the nicest place I've ever stayed in the uk, beautiful boutique room with friendly and welcoming staff made our last minutes stay an absolute pleasure. We can wait to return with the children, they are sure to fall in love with the grounds, lake house and warm outdoor swimming pool. Stunning.

Danny T, United Kingdom


9 September 2015

“The best! ”

— After a mess up by booking.com we changed to Anran. The best mistake ever as this has to be the most stunning place I have ever stayed in and I'm well travelled all over the world. The attention to detail is above all expectations and I would seriously recommend a stay there. Mike and Nitha are wonderful people and made us all feel very welcome. We will be back!! Thank you to you all.

KateKrunch, Taunton, United Kingdom


1 September 2015

“Oh my goodness! - Absolutely Amazing”

— I’m a little late in writing this review as my husband and I stayed here a couple of weeks ago to attend a family wedding. However, it's been on my mind since then to most definitely put pen to paper. I am quite fussy by nature and a total clean freak so it takes a lot for me to be impressed but impressed I most certainly am with Anran.
Simply put, this place in perfect in every way.
Firstly, the people. Mike and Netha - lovely, kind and extremely welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they looked after us so well. Really friendly and knowledgeable. We didn't get to meet Edwin which was a shame but hopefully, we will see him the next time we stay.
Secondly, the converted barn (room 1). This is self contained and beautifully designed. There is a sitting area, kitchen, bedroom (with roll top bath) and shower area. Immaculate and spotlessly clean in every aspect. The Molton Brown products and shower were a treat to use even down to the water pressure which was spot on (it's little things like this that make a stay away from home perfect). All in all, it is clear that a lot of thought, effort and time has been invested by Mike and Edwin in getting things just right for their guests.
Although we didn't indulge in the breakfast tray that was brought to us each morning (such shame but we were in a rush on both mornings) it all looked delicious and plentiful.
There is an excellent wifi connection too.
The immediate location and setting is peaceful and tranquil but it is also close to Totnes, Newton Abbott and Dartmoor - so another tick in the box.
It truly is a luxury place to stay and guests are made to feel welcome.
We are looking forward to returning to Anran the next time we visit Devon and hopefully, if we are allowed, we will bring our two beagles, Porthos and Aramis who I am sure will love it just as much as we did. It is good to know that Mike and Edwin are dog lovers too.
Thank you Mike, Edwin and Netha for everything and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

LLPKent, Kent


31 August 2015

“Exceptional”

— Stunning house in a fabulous location. We arrived Friday for a week and we were met by Mike and Nitja and we all were made to feel very welcome. Every bedroom was WOW and the bathrooms amazing not to mention all the fabulous furnishings and little touches. There was 12 of us but never at any time did the house feel full, amazing kitchen/ family room but also other rooms for peace & quiet. The outside was just as good,pool area,lake and the outdoor snug with log fire-- loved it all,even wellies and a hose for dogs, Oscar our Border Terrie was in his element. Lots of lovely places nearby to visit surging at Bigbury on Sea,Totnes, local pub Live & Let Live the list is endless. A stunning place would love to go back, Thank You.

klw3, Sheffield, United Kingdom


9 August 2015 

"The world's best B & B"

— When we booked rooms at Anran, we were aware that it was one of the better B & B, but that it should keep the standard, we were not aware of. We were very well received by the owners who was helpfulness itself, on a nice relaxed way. It was embarrassing clean everywhere and very specious, everything down to the smallest detail. The beds were good and the bathrooms gorgeous. The hosts were helpful with tour table (although there are plenty of fully where we wanted) and arranged with riding in Dartmoor.

Annette H, Hovik, Norway


3 August 2015

“Enchanting perfection.”

— Where to start?
ANRÁN Manor offered our party of 12 great friends (and a special dog who thinks he is a person) a perfect home in which to relax and enjoy being together. 
Mike and Edwin have somehow woven a very special magic into each and every room as was evidenced by the gasps of delight and pleasure from all of us as we explored the Manor. It was all so tastefully and beautifully presented and yet immediately warm and welcoming. The large kitchen and dining area proved the heart of the house for us and we loved our evenings together around the table. 
The magic extended outside the house with a wonderful natural garden, lovely pool, large pond and walks through the surrounding Anran fields. And we were able to walk through uncut clover! Bliss!
What shines through it all is Mike and Edwin's commitment to style, excellence, the local community and the environment and this is shared by the delightful Netha who was on hand to make sure all was well. Perfection!

Room Tip: They are all stunning! Beautiful linen, excellent mattresses and gorgeous bathroom bits and bobs.

WareMaud, Ware


3 August 2015

“Sexy Countryside Charm”

— This might be the best B&B I have ever stayed in, on every level - food, bed, bathroom, people... In fact it's so good I'm not going to tell you anymore. Go and see for yourselves. Or don't, I don't care. (Sorry Mike and Edwin - it's just that I don't want everyone going there and falling in love with the place like I have. I need to make sure there's always a room available when I need to escape London.)

Finchiebird, London, United Kingdom


26 July 2015

“Hidden Gem in Beautiful Devon”

— Our experience staying here set the standard for others to match. Top class accomodation, a very warm and friendly welcome, with everything you would possibly need included in rooms and suites. Added to that Mike, Edwin and Netha made us feel almost like one of the family. We were very sad to leave. Our first night was in a "Standard Room" which understated what we had and then our second night was in suite in the converted Barns which included kitchen, lounge and bedroom along with everything you could possible want. If that were not enough the breakfasts were incredible, the "Full English" set us for the day. This is a MUST STAY for us when we visit next.

Room Tip: All are excellent rooms are in the house and suites in the Barns. High quality everywhere

ggrant26, Alexandria, Virginia


18 July 2015

“A real touch of class in every respect”

— Edwin gave us a really warm welcome as soon as we arrived and after helping us to get settled in was keen to show us around their truly exceptional home. We met Mike and Netha (and Daisy the resident Jack Russell) who were all keen to make sure we had everything we needed including where to get a good G&T as well as the best local restaurants and shops. Whether you choose to stay in the house or converted barns all the rooms are beautifully decorated in what I would describe as an eclectic mix of new and old, simple but very stylish with every amenity on hand including WIFI. The breakfast is a feast so don't plan any early lunches and all the produce is local and very very good. What truly made this exceptional for me however was the unsolicited help that Mike offered us when we purchased some antique furniture from a local shop. Not only did Mike secure us a sizeable discount he also helped us with delivery. All in all we had a lovely weekend and I couldn't fault a single aspect. Well done guys 10 out of 10.

Room Tip: All very good

Sue O, Leicestershire, United Kingdom


17 July 2015

“Farm with Charm”

— Devon has a lot more charm with ANRÁN Manor. We had a superb stay at the beautiful and tastefully done barn. The room was full of charm with many small details to make our stay really special. The bed was ultra luxe with fine sheets. We especially love the mini kitchenette in the room. With stove, fridge and even washer and dryer. How thoughtful of the hosts. 
Apart from the room, the compound is just simply gorgeous, with rolling hills and meadow full of buttercup flower. A great destination if you want rest, fresh air and big sky! I would definitely recommend anyone who's looking for a down-to-earth with stealth luxury stay to experience the wonders of what Anran Manor can provide.

Room Tip: book the family barn house. It has many rooms for huge family and comes with heated private pool.

karmakarmama, New York, New York, United States


17 July 2015

“Gorgeous, picturesque, tasteful and so hospitable”

— Tidwell Farm / ANRÁN is a stunning place tucked away on a Devon lane. The large farm house can take couples or big groups, but we stayed in one of the beautifully renovated barn rooms. The way that luxury has been combined with the natural beauty of the barns is something really special. Mike and Edwin are such wonderful hosts, and the whole place is set in a beautiful property with a huge vegetable patch, grazing cows, and rolling fields. The location is very central with easy access to both the coast and Dartmoor, and delicious cream tea just a short walk down the road. You'll definitely need a car to get around, but that is true for Devon in general. Honestly, you couldn't ask for more in this beautiful and relaxing setting.

FreqTraveler231


13 July 2015

“Fantastic! Luxury but very unique and authentic. Hospitality 10 out of 10!”

— Absolutely fantastic, everything about it: the owners are extremely hospitable – but not in the annoying way; the rooms are very luxurious and comfortable – but not in the showy-overly decorated way; the breakfast is superb – local, fresh, a lot of it; the area is quiet and beautiful (you do need a car, however, very difficult to get around without) – short drive to the most spectacular settings.
The place is so unique, with every detail thought through, very authentic in a way.
The owners are exceptional! To give you an example: we went for a long hike and planned to go for a dinner in one of the villages to follow with the drinks in the B&B. We called the guys in the evening to find out if they sell drinks in the hotel. They don’t. When we came back in the evening – they have filled our fridge with their own beer: 6 different varieties and a lot of it.
Basically, if you are planning to go to South Devon this is the one and only place to stay at.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Burns - Room 1. I wish it was my flat. Great room!

Alyosha A A, London, United Kingdom


21 June 2015

“Real luxury with genuine hospitality”

— This place is stunning! The design and quality throughout the house is really something special but what made this a great stay was the friendly welcome we had from Mike and the great service we had throughout. This place strikes the perfect balance welcoming rural B&B and stylish design hotel, meaning that we really relaxed here. Breakfast was fantastic - some of the best scrambled eggs I've ever had - and the room was ideal. I've been disappointed in the past with hotels that have put design ahead of comfort, convenience or real hospitality but this place really doesn't have that problem. As the previous reviewer mentioned, housekeeping isn't a daily occurrence (something explained in the welcome pack in our room) but as someone who feels a bit restricted by hotel housekeeping schedules, I preferred the more personal approach. Mike was great whenever we wanted anything, providing us with a flask of fresh milk for morning tea and offering great restaurant and sightseeing recommendations. We too got a little nervous on the winding country roads but after a couple of trips it was easy - my ability to reverse at a reasonable speed has definitely developed and there were lots of passing spots. A relaxing dinner at the local pub is definitely recommended. It's small, decor bit stuck in the 70s but really friendly and great chips. Do also have a wander around the house too - the gardens, barns and glasshouse are really lovely and you can see why people choose to have wedding celebrations here.

armadillet, England, United Kingdom


17 June 2015

“Luxury accommodation in stunning farm conversion”

A warm welcome from Mike who showed us around the extensive grounds and other rooms. The conversion has been carried out with an incredible eye for detail and comfort. Barn room 6 was beautiful with exposed original brick walls, fully equipped kitchen and bathroom with full bath and separate shower, stocked with Molton Brown products. The bed linen is beautifully crisp and the bed gave us a very comfortable sleep. Breakfast is provided on a large tray - sausages, bacon, eggs, breads and pastries, fresh fruit and freshly squeezed orange juice. Loved cooking our breakfast in the well-equipped kitchen. Great place to stay as a couple or a family (some of the barn rooms can be linked together), or with a large group of friends. There is a beautiful heated swimming pool in the gardens. Great peaceful location. Can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: We stayed in barn room 6 - but saw most of the rooms available and they all looked incredible

Jo_lee_spain, arundel


14 June 2015

“Super cool country retreat!”

— We had a fabulous stay at Mike and Edwin's uber cool B&B in the heart of the beautiful Dartmoor countryside when visiting for a cycling Sportive. After being greeted with a warm welcome from Netha & Edwin, and dog, we were given the full tour of their stunning farm conversion, and we were both blown away with the place. The guys have created a beautiful, stylish and uber cool home and guest house - it's like a contemporary hotel complete with the rustic chilled vibe of the country. We stayed on one of the self contained barn suites, with well decked out kitchen / lounge, contemporary bedroom with super comfy bed and a gorgeous free standing tub. In the morning we were treated with a breakfast fit for kings, as an array of fabulous local produce arrived on our door (perfect after taking on 56miles of Dartmoor hills on the bikes!). The property is located close to some great foody destinations such as Riverford Organic farm which is ten mins away and perfect for a dinner out to sample the best of the local area. If you are looking for a quality place to get away from it all - we cannot recommend staying here enough! Thanks for a great stay, we’re looking forward to coming back soon!

AEBurningham, London, England, United Kingdom


11 June 2015

“Outstanding Bed & Breakfast”

— i have stayed in my fair share of hotels and bed and breakfast but this one has to the best one because it absolutely flawless. when we arrived the owner took us around this beautiful property, then showed us to out room on the top floor. the decor was stunning, beautiful free standing bathtub and very comfortable bed. The breakfast again is faultless with a variety of different yogurts, fruits, pastries bread and fresh juices. you also get cooked breakfast from local produce eggs, bacon, sausages etc all cooked for you. The owner Mike is very welcoming, friendly and has a great sense of humour. This is the ideal location for a weekend get away, quiet countryside and lots of activities to do local. i wish i could have stayed longer! overall AMAZING!!! 10/10

Room Tip: Spend abit extra and get the junior suite you will not regret it.

Brian K, Gloucester, United Kingdom


29 May 2015

“Stunning property and fabulous hosts”

— We stayed last weekend for 2 nights as a family with two children (4 and 6). We had two connected rooms and they were absolutely gorgeous- huge beds, great bed linen and wonderful, stylish decor. Our room had an enormous free standing bath also. You select what you would like for breakfast and a huge tray appears in the mornings with wonderful produce- fruit, yoghurts, pastries, bread, cereal and fresh juice - as well as very generous amounts of sausages/bacon/eggs/tomatoes/ mushrooms etc for you to cook. The rooms are beautifully fragranced with lovely products in the bathroom.
We loved our stay. Edwin and Mike were very welcoming and they have created an amazing place. I wish we had been able to stay longer! There is so much to do near by; we only scratched the surface but it is a good excuse to go back.

Raffaela01, Greater London, United Kingdom


28 May 2015

“Amazing B&B”

— Me and my partner travelled here for a 2 night stay to visit Dartmoor! We arrived and we were greeted my the two owners! We had a long chat about us and their way of owning such a beautiful property! We then were shown up to our room! It featured a huge bed, nice TV and the main feature the spiralling staircase to our bathroom! Breakfast both days was served on the patio garden and was such high quality! Overall amazing!

Mac b, England, United Kingdom


28 May 2015

“Amazing”

— We were delighted as soon as we arrived at Tidwell farm where we had two luxury adjoining barns between 4 friends. Not only did we receive a good welcome but the accommodation, location, facilities and overall comfort exceeded our expectations. The barns have been very well thought out and designed, have very comfortable beds, great bathrooms and the kitchen amenities were beyond what we anticipated. We'd like to keep this place a bit of secret but would also love to take friends and family to enjoy this beautiful place. We've already started planning our next stay for next year.

Adam_travelling, England, United Kingdom


19 May 2015

“Amazing home, wonderful location and great hosts”

— This is a wonderful place to stay. Elegant and understated, but with amazing attention to detail. The owners made us feel very at home. We stayed in the four bedroom barn whilst on a business trip in the South West - not even a close comparison to staying in a local hotel. 
The bedrooms and bathrooms are beautifully appointed. The barn conversion has been sensitively completed and the surroundings are very peaceful. Hopefully returning soon.

TC1001, United Kingdom


5 May 2015

“Devon heaven!”

— We cannot praise Tidwell Farm enough. It truly is an exceptional property. We had 2 nights in one of the converted barns, outside the main house and were thoroughly spoiled. 
The room was beautiful, with a four poster bed, free standing tub and lovely living room/kitchen area. The shower in the bathroom was fabulous and all the Molton Brown amenities were a real treat. 
The breakfast is a feast, brought to your room when it suits you, and the menu options are vast. 
The location is perfect as you're nestled in the beautiful countryside but very close to the coast. We easily explored Dartmouth and Salcombe from Tidwell Farm as well as many other pretty little villages along the way.
We also had our dog with us and they were very sweet to her. She adored running around the country and exploring all the space. It's a perfect place to take a pet.
Edwin and Mike are excellent hosts and go out of their way to ensure that you have a special experience. We were treated to a wonderful tour of the property, covering the main house, the barns and the grounds. This is something not to be missed. It's incredible what they have achieved in 2 years and we can't wait to return to see how it continues to progress.

Marie K, London, England, United Kingdom


21 April 2015

“Exquisitely beautiful home”

— This creative and sympathetic makeover of a grade 2 farm house is exquisite. The house is full of light, grace and space. The owners, Edwin and Mike are engaging conversationalists with a stock of interesting stories to tell and wry observations.... We had enormous fun and we'll be back!

Room Tip: Discuss your preferences with the owners, they're very helpful.

C.M.hughes, Birmingham, United Kingdom


7  April 2015 

“A Gem In The Devon Countryside”

— As has already been said by previous visitors this place is fabulous. My wife and I stayed here for three nights 30 March to 1 April. Mike is an excellent host and immediately made us feel very welcome. 
The property is a 19th century (approx 1840) farmhouse and barns which have undergone a complete renovation. Mike showed us photographs of before work began and I have to say the transformation is outstanding. We were lucky in that staying there just before the Easter holidays and our time of arrival gave a brief opportunity of a full tour of house and barns. All rooms are superb - it doesn't matter which room you have you will like it. We had one of the barn rooms and it was delightful; under floor heating throughout meant we were warm, comfortable and well shielded from the cold and wind outside.
I'm not sure if the same arrangement applies to the house but in the barn breakfast was brought to our room at the time we requested. Everything was on offer from cereal, to pastries to full cooked breakfast. The barns have cooking facilities and we enjoyed the flexibility this gave.
This place is on a small country road. When driving there the sat nav will take you to the local school. Tidwell Farm is on the same road as the school but about 800 yards away. The name on the gate is ANRÁN. I found two web sites http://anran.co.uk and http://www.tidwellfarmbedandbreakfast.co.uk.
I can recommend this place without hesitation and would stay there again.

Ron l, Chesterfield, United Kingdom


21 March 2015

“Stylish country retreat”

— The positives:
- Rare mix of contemporary interior design & rural location 
-‘ New York loft apartment' style barns, with wow-factor roll top baths, heated concrete floors and contemporary furniture 
- Molton Brown bathroom accessories 
- The lovely hosts, Mike and Edwin that provide a warm welcome, gorgeous breakfasts and helpful knowledge of the local area. 
— The negatives:
- It's all good!
Recommended? Yes, definitely. Perfect for city dwellers that want a stylish country retreat. 
See pictures on Twitter @mrrands

Mr R, United Kingdom


17 March 2015 

“Urban Chic in the Countryside”

— Amazing stylish rooms in the barn with under floor heating, big tubs, rain showers, lovely huge comfy beds, kitchen with everything we needed and a huge breakfast tray brought to the door! These guys are on to something special here and we will be back.

James B, United Kingdom


16 February 2015

“Incredible Devon Getaway”

— I tend only to write reviews where either the experience has been amazing, or dreadful. In this case it was certainly the former.
Mike an Edwin are the most welcoming hosts I have ever encountered, and there was nothing better than waking up (at whatever time you like) to their cheery conversation and interesting stories of all the places they've been. They offer you everything from granola, to a full English breakfast (which I grudgingly obliged to) and a hot coffee to wake you up in the mornings.
The real wow-factor in this property however is the total renovation that Mike and Edwin have conducted. Taking the old farmhouse and associated barns, and converting them into a luxurious bed and breakfast that is comfortable, and yet maintains the old English style that the area exudes. Edwin was happy to show us around, from the cute pond out back, to the huge inner courtyard that is used for events. Mike was able to point us in the direction of things to do in the area during the day, and although we only stayed for a weekend; there is enough to fill weeks, walking on Dartmoor, trips to the coast and steam train rides are only the start.
The only difficulty is finding this gorgeous place. Although it is listed here as Tidwell Farm, the sign on the gatepost is Anran farm. They have their own website: >>>> http://anran.co.uk <<<< which show a lot more photos and really captures what the place is about!
I really recommend this place, and will definitely be returning there myself!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful, although if possible ask for one of the barn rooms! They have baths...

CharlesBowen, Isle of Wight, United Kingdom


15 February 2015

“I never want to leave here, stunning”

— I am currently staying here with my husband for a long weekend. The house is stunning, it is my dream home, the kitchen is just breath taking. Our bedroom is so comfortable and luxurious it is like being in a five star hotel. But, far better than any of the amenities has to be without a doubt the two hosts, Mike and Edwin. Friendly, welcoming and can't do enough for you. They really go above and beyond to make your stay feel like you are in heaven for the weekend. 
If I could leave here permanently, I would. I do not want to leave tomorrow!!
Thank you for a lovely weekend, we will be back soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic,no matter which you stay in, it will be fantastic.

Andrea_T76, London, United Kingdom


17 October 2015

“A piece of paradise on earth”

— Location,  staff,  owners, interior design,  atmosphere, concept,  food,  bed,  linen,  pool,  garden. Truly a wonderful experience. You can travel the world and not find anything as good as this.  It's a 6 star hotel with the pleasures of a Bed and Breakfast.

Faysal, United Arab Emirates


22 September 2015

“Staying at Tidwell Farm is a holiday in itself.”

— Beautifully restored small manor house. Great decor, excellent food and very helpful and interesting staff.

Alan, United Kingdom


20 September 2015

“Really Lovely”

— A lot of money has been spent on the refurbishment of this property. The facilities are amazing - great shower!  Very helpful and terribly friendly staff and the rooms are great. Very trendy refurb leaving all the old character and features while injecting cutting art fittings.

Lucy, United Kingdom


19 September 2015

“Beautiful room with lovely staff.”

— Very happy with our stay, the staff were lovely, the breakfast included was delicious with a lot of variety. The room was beautiful, i would recommend a stay here for anyone.

Sean, United Kingdom


15 September 2015

“Perfect”

— Absolutely everything, wonderful place. Mike, Edwin and Netha were so welcoming

Sophia, United Kingdom


12 September 2015

“A splendid place to stay for anyone with varied holiday requirements.”

— The property is still in the development phase but what has been completed is really superb. any new works are in a different area so will not impinge od the present accommodation. Breakfast was superb as was the room. All the staff were friendly & extremely helpful.

Albert, United Kingdom


9 September 2015

“A superb location for a weekend break!”

— Very friendly people, property to a very high standard in a great location with lots to do. We enjoyed our stay immensely, great breakfast too. Wouldn't change a thing. Thanks guys!

Matt, United Kingdom


1 September 2015

“Lovely stay in a beautifully restored farm building”

— Loved the style of these wonderfully restored farm buildings.

Nadia, United Kingdom


31 August 2015

“Exceptional”

— There was nothing not to like about ANRAN @ Tidwell.
A warm welcome from friendly and helpful owners and staff.
Great accommodation. We will and have recommended ANRAN @ Tidwell to our friends and family.

Simon, Singapore


25 August 2015

“Amazing!”

— Amazing converted farm with a unique luxury feel, pet friendly, and great people. Will definitely go again.

Mark, United Kingdom


25 August 2015

“Home away from home”

— Decor was excellent! the welcome from the staff also top rate. Felt like home but with someone else making the breakfast.

Andrea, United Kingdom


25 August 2015

“Worth every penny!”

— Friendly welcome, large, unfussy, well finished and comfortable rooms. The children loved visiting the chickens.

Rafael, Switzerland


22 August 2015

“Wonder place fantastic people who made our stay memorable”

— Everything

Grant, USA


16 August 2015

“Romantic courtyard in the country”

— Friendly staff, and a quite remarkable room. Super breakfast brought to our room

Mary, United Kingdom


11 August 2015

“Elegant luxury”

— Absolutely fantastic b&b.From the welcome by Mike and Edwin to the tour of the barns as we were leaving there was not a thing wrong. Beautiful and stylish decor, comfortable room, well cooked breakfast with quality ingredients, and a fantastic location.

Michael, United Kingdom


11 August 2015

“Excellent bed and breakfast, ultimate relaxation”

— What a great hosts are Edwin and Mike. Great service, good advice. Atmosphere was brilliant, rooms excellent and with lovely details.

Cornelia, Netherlands


11 August 2015

“Great place to stay for a special anniversary”

— Very relaxed and friendly atmosphere. The room was excellent. Breakfast wonderful. Owners made you feel at home.

Robert, United Kingdom


11 August 2015

“Perfect Weekend Escape”

— Mike and Edwin were amazing and looked after us so well. The place itself is really beautiful and immaculately kept and the bed was so so comfy.

Kate, United Kingdom


28 July 2015

“A beautiful hidden gem you have to experience.”

What and incredible place, beautifully designed rooms, stunning grounds and a lovely location. Breakfast was delicious and the staff were very kind and accommodating. I am already planning my next trip back!

Chantel, United Kingdom


24 July 2015

“Perfect place to stay”

— Very nice hosts, room and surroundings. Perfect breakfast. The place was rebuild in a very fasion and modern style.

Lone, Denmark


21 July 2015

“Stunning countryside treat for the soul.”

— From the moment you arrive you are treated like family & the accommodation(barn 1) is stunning with the most amazing choice of breakfast brought to your barn at your appointed time! Location is perfect for peace & relaxation with option to walk to pub & cafe along country lanes.

Sharon, United Kingdom


14 July 2015

“A taste of luxury.”

— We loved it all! Was all so beautiful, the room and grounds. The staff were friendly and so welcoming. Wish we could have stayed longer. A lovely bit of luxury that was much needed!

Amy, United Kingdom


13 July 2015

“truly unique experience”

— Tidwell Farm is an exceptional place to stay.  Owners made every effort to make our experience personal and relaxed. It felt as if we were staying at friend’s house but with an excellent service too. The room was just amazing with beautiful interior and all the facilities you need really. Great choice of food for breakfast and very friendly and quite atmosphere. It was truly a unique experience. Will definitely come back. Thank you.

Alena, United Kingdom


12 July 2015

“Perfect”

— Location, rooms, hosts, food.

William, United Kingdom


23 June 2015

“Excellent stay”

— Lovely room and amazing breakfast!

Elizabeth, United Kingdom


9 June 2015

“Short retreat to the Devonshire countryside”

— The location is great. Surrounded by beautiful countryside, in a very tranquil setting. 

Both Anrán Barn & the manor house have been tastefully renovated, retaining lots of character, but adding some tasteful contemporary elements. Each room has its own unique charm and period features. The set up would cater well for everyone, couples, families or groups.

Dominic, United Kingdom


5 May 2015

“Excellent....Mike and Edwin were perfect hosts”

— Great room, great hosts, great breakfast.....we will definitely return.

Mike, United Kingdom


5 May 2015

“Devon heaven”

— We cannot praise ANRÁN @ Tidwell enough.  It truly is an exceptional property.  We had 2 nights in one of the converted barns, outside the main house and were thoroughly spoiled.
The room was beautiful, with a four poster bed, free standing tub and lovely living room/kitchen area.  The shower in the bathroom was fabulous and all the Molton Brown amenities were a real treat.
The breakfast is a feast, brought to your room when it suits you, and the menu options are vast.
The location is perfect as you're nestled in the beautiful countryside but very close to the coast.  We easily explored Dartmouth and Salcombe from Tidwell Farm as well as many other pretty little villages along the way.
We also had our dog with us and they were very sweet to her.  She adored running around the country and exploring all the space.  It's a perfect place to take a pet.
Edwin and Mike are excellent hosts and go out of their way to ensure that you have a special experience.  We were treated to a wonderful tour of the property, covering the main house, the barns and the grounds.  This is something not to be missed.  It's incredible what they have achieved in 2 years and we can't wait to return to see how it continues to progress. Can't recommend ANRÁN @ Tidwell enough!

Thomas, United Kingdom


20 February 2015

“If your search for somewhere to stay has brought you to ANRAN Tidwell farm, it is a blessing.”

— We wanted a couple of days away to unwind and could never imagine how much more we received. The buildings are immaculate with both character and class. Our hosts were generous, thoughtful and welcomed us like family friends. I wanted our stay to be never ending. It is more than a break, the tranquility and quirky space enabled us to reflect and re prioritise our lives. If you are reading this review then you are meant to go there two. Look no further and while you are bathing in the free standing bath, emersed in Molton Brown ... Remember to tell others about this life changing paradise. The gorgeous personalised breakfast, the dreamy bed, the classy extras within the accommodation.... These memories will stay with us ... Thank you ANRÁN.

Adele, United Kingdom


20 February 2015

“Nest”

— the place, the owners, the food, the bed, the feeling.

Charbit, France


16 February 2015

“Amazingly tranquil”

— Both my partner and I adore the owner Mike and ANRÁN @ Tidwell, it’s the only place we travel 500 miles round trip for. Nothing is too much for Mike,his attention to us was second to none. We really feel as though we have found a true treasure and friend, as this is how he makes you feel,totally welcomed :) Netha is amazing at looking after you personally in the mornings, with the fantasticly fresh and brilliant breakfast.Tidwell is so beautiful and well thought out, with its rustic beauty,yet still modern and appealing. Tidwell tells its own story-100% value for money,wins hands up over anything else in its area. See you again soon guys :) Xx

Michelle, United Kingdom


11 February 2015

“absolutely amazing, we loved every second. and mike & edwin were just fab! friendly atmosphire.” 

— We loved how friendly mike was, just amazing, very chatty and made sure we felt welcome. the room in the barn was out of this world. :-)

Andrew, United Kingdom


27 December 2014

“Absolutely gorgeous!”

— Took over the whole house for Christmas with 4 generations of the family making 10 adults and 2 children under 5 and 2 dogs. Every room is absolutely delightful, from the furniture to the furnishings. So many rooms to relax in, great kitchen, lovely orangery area, outdoor barn and log fire to relax by (and dance!), beautiful countryside. I absolutely loved this place. The owners have done a fabulous job.

Jenbercamp, Peterborough, United Kingdom


14 October 2014

“Incredible!!”

— I visited Tidwell for weekend away with my boyfriend back in July. We wanted an escape to the country, a place where we could relax in country luxury, have a cosy summery trip, long walks, visit pretty villages and perhaps cook a meal or two from local produce. I stumbled upon Tidwell Farm website and was delighted when Mike told me the last room was still available - the pictures looked so divine I jumped at the chance and reserved two nights. We drove down from London and as we turned off on to the high hedged little country roads our hearts filled with joy of being away from the city and in such an idyllic part of the English countryside. When we found Tidwell nestled in a village and were shown to our room, we were completely blown away in how stunning the place was. Every inch of the room was perfect, from the gorgeous sheets and towels, the beautifully selected furnishing, large comfortable bed, Molton Brown goodies, huge bath tub in the middle of the bedroom, everything was done to the upmost precision and fabulous taste. Not only was the place amazing, the hosts were so lovely too and during our time there we had a chance to chat and laugh over a glass of wine. We stayed in a courtyard room, which was two rooms that interconnected, as we wanted a kitchen. We had a lovely afternoon in Ashburton shopping for yummy local foods and cooked up a fab dinner, the kitchen was totally superb and had everything you need. Finally the breakfasts were unbelievable, a huge tray of everything a breakfast should be was carried to your room for you to cook and eat at your leisure. Quite a WOW factor. I've stayed in many hotels, B&Bs, Farms and rooms etc and I have to say this has become one of my favourites. Don't even look for another website, book Tidwell and have yourself a romantic weekend like we did.

TashiKing, London, United Kingdom


8 October 2014

“5 star B&B!”

— On a visit to the UK from Australia, myself, my mother and my two kids (12 and 15) stayed here in September 2014 for 2 nights and it turned out to be one of the highlights of our holiday. Mike and Edwin have thought of everything, down to the smallest details such as a good quality hairdryer tucked away in the drawer in case you forgot to bring one. It is a top notch renovation of the farmhouse and barn area, which is reflected in the price, but ohhhh so worth it! It needs its own category on tripadvisor, as it can hardly be compared to any other B&B I've stayed in. 
The photos don't do the place justice as the rooms really are luxurious, with quality fixtures and fittings, and there is a heated pool on the property too. The area is quiet and relaxing but with close proximity to the coast. Mike had booked us dinner at a nearby restaurant which turned out to be excellent food in a quaint thatched pub setting. 

Breakfast must be mentioned as there was a surplus of everything delicious, and something for everyone. We cooked our own in the well stocked kitchen in our two bed barn room, with the doors open to the lovely Italianesque gravelled courtyard, resplendent with olive trees. 

Overall, a wonderful experience for all of us, covering 3 generations!

Room Tip: All the rooms I saw were equally luxurious and well appointed.

Zoe G, Sydney, Australia


2 October 2014

“Amazing venue!”

— My partner and I had the pleasure of attending a friends wedding reception at Tidwell farm and we were speechless the moment we walked in. The barn in which they hold the reception is spacious, light, simple yet beautiful!
Although we did not stay in the b&b we had a a sneak peek at the rooms and the main house and we were blown away. I would LOVE to have my wedding reception here!!!

Jaime H, United Kingdom


19 September 2014

“Chic hotel meets B&B”

— Like staying away from home should be - comfy big beds, crisp white sheets, clean kitchen and shower room, beautiful barn conversion with gorgeous furniture (so well designed) and a very novel fruit box FULL of fresh produce and pastries to cook your own breakfast to your liking, at your convenience, in your own kitchen! Fabulous!

Michelle, United Kingdom


17 September 2014

“Stunning !”

— We stayed at Tidwell Farm for 2 nights and were made to feel very welcomed and relaxed from the moment we arrived. No sooner had we been greeted by Mike and shown to our luxury room we were encouraged to roam around the house and grounds and were drawn to sit by a lake enjoying the stunning surroundings and watch the sun set. Our room was an uber-luxurious one with a mix of stone and wood combining colours of nature which merged beautifully into each other. The attention to detail and mix of furniture sourced from around the globe completed this eclectic mix . Tidwell farm has been transformed from a derelict farm into a luxurious, high-end getaway which offers a feeling of calm and tranquillity. You won’t stay at another like this, you couldn’t! because this place is unique and has been designed and built from the imagination, heart and worldly travels of the owners.
Book now before the secret is out! You will feel completely inspired by the whole experience.( oh and forgot to mention... very well feed !)

Room Tip: EVERY room is unique and amazing !

Gail d, London, United Kingdom


11 September 2014

“Fantastic place”

— Beautiful, peaceful location. Top quality furniture and fittings, modern, boutique style. Expect to see it in Homes and Gardens some time soon.

Janice, United Kingdom


27 August 2014

“Amazing!”

— We received a warm welcome from owner Mike despite it being late on a Friday evening. He was great throughout the stay, recommending local places to go, making sure all was ok. Having our 2 year old son with us we quickly realised we had finally managed it! We had found luxury self catering but with the added hospitality from the owners. We could enjoy being a family while staying in a cool, design inspired space.  
What else can I say that hasn't been said by all the other guests already...Breakfast was amazing...fresh milk, orange juice, eggs, bacon, sausages, croissants etc. etc. Very tasty & great to be able to cook it & relax in our own environment. Molton Brown products, amazing! Rainfall shower, wow! Freestanding bath in the bedroom, wow again! We will be back with friends & family in tow...!

Richard, United Kingdom


24 August 2014

“Exceptional”

— Absolutely stunning place and wonderful owners!

Nicola, United Kingdom


17 August 2014

“Full of character & style”

— Everything from the moment we walked in, the host, breakfast, facility, surround area, quite, the bed, bathroom, big thank you the owner Mike, very helpful & kind person, think about come again Christmas time or winter, just relax doing nothing, very nice clean & comfortable, it call farm house, but better than 5 star hotel, rooms spacious. Good choice, the breakfast was excellent. Very enjoy it.

Kate, United Kingdom


14 August 2014

“Super”

— Everything

Wendy, United Kingdom


29 July 2014

“It has everything we were looking for and the staff were excellent! Looking forward to going again!”

— The friendly staff, The decoration, Everything!

Leonardo, United Kingdom


28 July 2014

“Exceptional venue”

— Quite the most welcoming and helpful hosts in Edwin and Mike who demonstrate superb vision and a flair for design and detail. Tidwell Farm is truly luxurious, fabulously well designed, well appointed and spacious - the best B&B we've ever stayed in - and in a beautiful part of the country.  We will be returning, soon.

Grant, United Kingdom


25 July 2014

“Welcoming!!”

— Mike & Edwin were so welcoming, and couldn't be more helpful. Breakfast was amazing, such choice. Attention to detail throughout, with a relaxed feel, home from home. Lots to see and do within 30 mile radius.

Claire, United Kingdom


22 July 2014

“Exceptional”

— Nothing was too much trouble. Friendliness of owners, who were quite happy to spend time talking to their guests.,Rooms are stunning, very bright and well furnished. They have brought the best together., Place has kept some of its tradition, but with a modern angle to the accommodation

Michael, United Kingdom


20 July 2014

“Exceptional”

— The couple running Tidwell Farm were extremely friendly and kind to us both, welcoming us with a coffee as soon as we arrived and helping us to find somewhere to eat. They booked us a table at a little pub down the road where I had the best meal of my life. The room was spectacular and the whole house opened up and was brilliantly refurbished by the couple themselves. We were given a tour of the whole place, it was very homely and we felt like we had gone abroad. We had breakfast in the morning and the couple cooked us eggs and set out the table with food for us to choose from, it was all very healthy, and they always made sure that we were happy and comfortable. It was a wonderful get away and we would love to go back there as a couple and also with our families, to show them how beautiful the place is.

Sophie, United Kingdom


8 July 2014

“Tranquillity”

— The unique setting, the stylish touches, the welcoming atmosphere.

Sandra, United Kingdom


8 July 2014

“Long Weekend Devon Break”

— ANRÁN @ Tidwell Farm was the best B&B we have ever stayed in. The welcome from the two owners was very good and set the mood for the weekend. The accommodation was fantastic and the breakfast was 10 out of 10--Very highly recommended and cannot wait to return.

Gunshott, United Kingdom


8 July 2014

“Wonderful from start to finish”

— Everything! The breakfast was amazing, the room was stunning and the bath was divine. Bed was super comfortable and the actual place is beautiful, and getting even better by the looks of things!

Claire, United Kingdom


1 July 2014

“Exceptional”

— Very welcoming hosts.  beautiful property. Will definitely return.

Beckie, United Kingdom


© Anrán 2014
Tel. 01803 762828